Ondo Pensioners elect Osunyemi as new Chairman, 11 other Excos 

By: Ade Adeleke

Members of the Nigeria Union of Pensioners, NUP, Ondo state Council, have elected new executives to pilot the affairs of the senior citizens in the Sunshine state.

All the new state officers except one position were elected unopposed during the State Delegates Conference held on Thursday 25th February, 2021 at the Union’s Secretariat, Oda road in Akure.

Hon. Johnson Adelusi OSUNYEMI was elected the new State Chairman to succeed Chief Raphael Adetunwo who died on 28th September 2019 during a brief illness.

The only post contested by two Candidates was State Trustee 2.

The Contestants were —Comrade Ibironke Lawrence and Elder OMOLAFE Michael Obafemi. Number of accredited voters=89

Number of votes cast =84; After voting Ibironke scored=14 while OMOLAFE scored=70 to emerge the winner.

Full list of new Exco


1) Hon. Johnson Adelusi OSUNYEMI—-State Chairman.

2)MR Awolu Lasisi– state Vice Chairman.

3)State Treasurer–Revd Ololajulo Abiodun.

4)State Auditor—Mr Adeyelu Francis

5)State Trustee1—Hon Festus OGUNLEYE

6)Elder OMOLAFE Michael

7)State Ex-Officio

—Fadiminiyi Modupe

—Isimijola B. O

—Mrs Akinniyi Juniana

—Chief P. O. A Oyeto

—Comr.Olagidi Francis

—Mr Gbileyi Iyiola

—Mr. S. O. Ojo.

The position of the State Secretary was not contested as Comrade Akin Sunday remains the Ondo State Secribe of NUP.

The exercise was conducted by an Electoral Officer from NUP National Secretariat, Abuja, Comrade Bunmi Ogunkolade and jointly supervised by Ondo state NLC Chairman Comrade Oluwole Adeleye Sunday and some other Labour Leaders in attendance.

The new NUP Executives will be sworn-in on 11th March, 2021 in Akure.

Leave a Comment