Breaking: PDP NWC, Governors settle for Agboola, Obaseki in Ondo, Edo Guber polls

By: Adesoji Adetona

The National leadership of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) under the National Working Committee (NWC) and their governors have allegedly settled for the choice of Governor Godwin Obaseki as the party’s Candidate for the September governorship election in Edo state and the Ondo state Deputy Governor, Hon Agboola Ajayi as the party’s Candidate for October 10, 2020 governorship election; SUNSHINETRUTH can report.

According to a source in Abuja, after high-power interventions from the stakeholders, PDP conceded Edo ticket to Obaseki and Ondo guber candidacy to Ajayi.

The ondo state Deputy Governor is expected to register for PDP at his Kiribo ward in Ese-Odo local government area of the state today (Sunday) and officially defects from the APC to the PDP tomorrow (Monday).

Obaseki and his deputy, Hon Shuaibu had last week Friday dumped the APC for the PDP.

Already, seven aspirants had obtained the nomination form of the PDP including the party’s 2016 gubernatorial candidate, Mr Eyitayo Jegede (SAN), a former Federal lawmaker, Dr Bode Ayorinde, the PDP National Vice Chairman (Southwest), Dr Eddy Olafeso and Barr Sola Ebiseni among others.

SUNSHINETRUTH learnt that although the state chapter of the party had denied several times that it will hold its primaries and no agreement with Agboola but a reliable source in Abuja said the national leadership had settled for Agboola to slug it out with whoever the APC presents for the ondo state polls.

It was further gathered that the opposition also agreed that Olafeso should retain its current position while the fate of other PDP governorship aspirants particularly Jegede is yet to be known as at the press time.

Further details later……

Leave a Comment